Reviews - The Sheiling Guesthouse

Very comfortable - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay, well furnished room and professional service. Breakfast was delicious. I would stay again.

Reviewer:David Rushton | Mon 25th Sep 2017


Very comfortable - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay, well furnished room and professional service. Breakfast was delicious. I would stay again.

Reviewer:David Rushton | Mon 25th Sep 2017


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

The Sheiling Guesthouse is situated in a quiet area. Our bedroom was delightful and spacious with very good beds. There is a splendid lounge and a bright dining room with view over the large garden and the loch.We really enjoyed our stay in this informal and friendly house. It only was too short. We'd like to thank you for your particular kindness!

Reviewer:Mr. Dietmar Geisler | Sat 2nd Sep 2017


Very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

We would very happily stay here again. The room and bed were very comfortable and everything was provided (including whisky, though we didn't partake!).

Reviewer:Mr. Antony Compton | Tue 29th Aug 2017


Excelent - Rating 5/5

Excelent room, big, clean, comfortable and quiet.Very good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Almudena O\'Shea | Mon 28th Aug 2017


Ottimo per itinerari a petalo - Rating 5/5

Siamo stati qui per 2 notti, per visitare la zona con un itinerario a petalo. La struttura è mo,to bella, le camere spaziose e i proprietari molto gentili. La colazione è a scelta tra tipica e continentale, con anche la possibilità di scegliere salmone affumicato, buonissimo. Si arriva a piedi alla città di Ullapool e c'è anche la possibilità di scenfe nella baia attraverso il giardino. Davvero consigliatissimo.

Reviewer:Mr. Marco Vignozzi | Wed 23rd Aug 2017


Superb overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We just had the one night here, but everything from the welcome to the breakfast made with local ingredients for was faultless and the location is fantastic, thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Smith | Mon 21st Aug 2017


Great- Rating 4/5

Great location. Great room and breakfast. Friendly.

Reviewer:Jose Enrique Gallego | Sun 20th Aug 2017


Perfect place to stay - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay. Great location with an easy short walk into Ullapool.Our room (4) was ideal for an overnight stay, overlooking the garden and a beautiful view of the estuary and hills.A lovely continental and full breakfast was served in the bright dining area.Will definitely look to stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen Garrard | Sat 19th Aug 2017


A comfortable Guest House - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay here the beds were comfortable, the breakfasts excellent it was very clean and welcoming, the only downside is we had a shower over the bath and I prefer a cubicle

Reviewer:Mrs. Joyce Skevington | Sun 13th Aug 2017


Beautiful setting - Rating 4/5

The first room we were shown to only had a hand held shower and bath, so the owner, when asked, kindly moved us downstairs to a room with a shower cubicle. The room was large, light and pleasant. The bed wasn't the best we'd slept in on our travels and the radiator didn't work (which shouldn't have been necessary in August but the weather was a bit bleak!) otherwise it would have been 5 stars. The breakfast was really good in a lovely dining room with a stunning view of the loch.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elaine Collins | Fri 11th Aug 2017


Motorcycle tour of Scotland - Rating 5/5

A lovely guest house on the shore of Loch Broom. We only stayed for one night but were given a warm welcome and a very spacious room. Having travelled several hundred miles, on a motorcycle, by the time we reached Ullapool we were delighted to find the Guest House had it's own sauna. There is a small charge for this but it's excellent value for money.Only a 5 minute walk to the village centre/harbour.The breakfast room looks out over the Loch and there was plenty of variety on the menu.

Reviewer:Stephen Robinson | Tue 8th Aug 2017


A lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

It's a really lovely place to stay and relax, with stunning views from the backyard. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, and owners offer multiple options to prepare your traditional Scottish breakfast as you like.

Reviewer:Miguel Reyes | Sun 6th Aug 2017


The Sheiling Guesthouse - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable room with lovely view over Loch Broom, hearty breakfast and good garden space in which our dog could be exercised. The welcome sherry was a nice touch!

Reviewer:Ranald BRUCE | Fri 28th Jul 2017


NC500 stop in Ullapool - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay. We were made to feel so welcome and the on site laundry facilities were really useful in our NC500 trip. Would recommend the Shieling Guesthouse to anyone.

Reviewer:Noel Ferson | Tue 25th Jul 2017


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Great place to stay, the welcoming was friendly and we were informed about the town, it's a nice stroll into the village do no car needed to find a place for dinner, you preorder brekkie, try the eggs n smoked salmon, it sets you up for the day, the room was bright and clean over looking the water stunning, would I recommend this place YES

Reviewer:Mrs. Martine Mynard | Wed 19th Jul 2017


great location - Rating 5/5

beautiful b&b, a great breakfast, and a sample of sherry in the room to welcome us!Enjoyed our short stay and would recommend it to others.

Reviewer:Ms. Gillian Keller | Wed 5th Jul 2017


Our stay at Ullapool - Rating 4/5

Positive réception. Pretty rooms. Good breakfasts.

Reviewer:Mr. PITRA Laurent | Sun 25th Jun 2017


Very nice B & B on a nice spot in Ullapool - Rating 5/5

Was here for the second time and is was still very good. friendly hosts, a good breakfast and te possibility for a nice stroll to the centre of Ullapool.

Reviewer:Mr. Frank van Tunen | Tue 20th Jun 2017


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Exceeds expectations.

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison Docherty | Sun 18th Jun 2017


Lovely, comfortable guesthouse - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a very comfortable one night stay. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful, there was a welcome drink in the room and I particularly appreciated having a little teapot in the room and access to fresh milk! The freshly cooked breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Parkinson | Sun 18th Jun 2017


Good spot for a night - Rating 5/5

Nice location near town. Clean comfortable room.Good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. John Adams | Tue 13th Jun 2017


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Great location, lovely hosts, good food, slept well and the sherry was a bonus. Thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony McGrath | Thu 8th Jun 2017


V & G - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome, made to feel at home.Comfortable room, very clean &tidy.Excellent breakfast &service.Beautiful view of the loch from the lounge &dining room.

Reviewer:Mrs. Valerie Spencer | Tue 6th Jun 2017


The Sheiling guest house - Rating 4/5

Great location, 10 minutes walk from Ulapool.Very comfortable.Loch view outstanding.Recommended

Reviewer:Mr. BRIAN FREEMAN | Fri 2nd Jun 2017


Comfortable room with a superb breakfast. - Rating 5/5

Good reception, comfortable room, weak shower, wonderful view of loch, spectacular scrambled eggs (best of the trip!) and smoked salmon breakfast. Oatmeal was good but could have been hotter. Noisy doors, but very quiet at night.Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Phillip Sorrells | Mon 29th May 2017


An excellent B and B - Rating 5/5

We had an overnight stay here and were very happy with all aspects. The room was very clean and all the facilities were to a high standard. Lovely breakfast. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean Hebdige | Fri 19th May 2017


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Good spacious room with sitting area. Sherry a nice extra touch. Lovely cooked breakfast. Beautiful views from garden.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne Keddie | Wed 17th May 2017


The Best - Rating 5/5

This has got to be the best B and B I have stayed at.5 star.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Kirk | Wed 17th May 2017


Nice - Rating 4/5

Lovely accommodation in a great place

Reviewer:Mr. Leslie Witt | Tue 16th May 2017


The Sheiling - Rating 5/5

COMFORTABLE ROOM,BEAUTIFUL DINING ROOM WITH GRAND VIEW,DELICIOUS BREAKFAST AND VERY KIND HOSTS. I WOULD RETURN.

Reviewer:Ms. Miriam Valesco | Mon 15th May 2017


Wonderful accommodation - Rating 5/5

Beautifully appointed B &B within easy walking diistance of Ullapool township. The rooms are immaculate and the breakfast delicious and plentiful. Ia

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Davidson | Sat 6th May 2017


A great first night in Scotland - Rating 5/5

Ullapool was our first stop on our Scottish holiday, and I don't think it could have been a better first stay than at The Sheiling. Our hosts, Leslie and Iain, were friendly, accommodating and shared their knowledge of the area with us. Our room was neat and clean with all you could need for an overnight stay. I would have happily stayed longer and enjoyed another perfectly cooked breakfast. A really beautiful guesthouse and perfect hosts.Looking forward to staying at The Sheiling again next year.

Reviewer:Mr. Phillip Gowers | Sun 25th Sep 2016


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

My g/f and I had a great one-night stay here, as the jumping off of our northern Scotland holiday. The room was beautiful with a comfortable bed.We lucked out and had beautiful weather so spent much of the time outside poking around Ullapool and some nearby trails.The breakfast the next morning was quite tasty and powered us well into the day (including a hike up Stac Polly).Would heartily recommend the Sheiling Guesthouse as a wonderful place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Seth Olson | Sun 25th Sep 2016


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome and lovely setting.Room was very well appointed, spacious with clean and comfortable beds.The dining room had a wonderful view and breakfast was lovely, it was helpful to pre-order. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Miss. ClaireConisbee| Fri 23rd Sep 2016


Fantasic place to stay- Rating 5/5

Warm welcome and lovely clean room. Easy access from town. Would stay again. Shame the owners have the property up for sale 😞

Reviewer:Mr. Adam Bruton | Fri 23rd Sep 2016


Return to an old favourite - Rating 5/5

We were regular visitors to the Sheiling for nearly 15 yrs and after a break of a few years we returned to find the same high level of provision. Nice room, great breakfast and brilliant surroundings. We always come away feeling relaxed and rejuvenated.

Reviewer:Mr. JohnFinnie | Fri 23rd Sep 2016


The Sheiling - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming, comfortable &a great breakfast.

Reviewer:Dr. Jarvis Hayman | Sun 18th Sep 2016


Very comfortable - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable room. Although bedroom had no view, the very comfortable visitor's lounge &breakfast room have stunning views over the loch. Easy walk into Ullapool. Helpful owner + good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Donald McLeod | Thu 25th Aug 2016


The Sheiling Guesthouse\' - Rating 5/5

everything was very good

Reviewer:Mr. Anton Stadlmeier | Wed 24th Aug 2016


Relax in paradise !!! - Rating 5/5

This structure is very clean, breakfast with fresh food very good (we ate porridge, salmon and scrumble eggs).The very paradise is the spectacular view of the sea, that we could see from breakfast room or garden of the structure.

Reviewer:Mr. Christian Memoli | Tue 23rd Aug 2016


One night stay in Ullapool - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation, service andwelcoming, would certainly stay again on our next visit to Ullapool.

Reviewer:Ms. Jeanette HOLLINS | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Excellent choice - Rating 5/5

We were made extremely welcome on our one night stay at the Sheiling Guest House. The guest house is immaculate and there was every station to detail to make sure we had the maximum comfort to enjoy the stay. The room was delightful, tastefully decorated with everything you could ever need. Superb choice of breakfast which was beautifully presented and delicious. Guests have use of garden seating overlooking Loch Broom and also a very comfortable lounge. Parking provided. I would highly reccomend the Sheiling and hope I can return again.

Reviewer:Ms. Lorna Murray | Fri 19th Aug 2016


Very nice guesthouse - Rating 4/5

We are a young couple, we stayed there just one night, and we were very impressed by it. The guesthouse is 5 minutes walking from the village of Ullapool. The room and the guesthouse itself were very nice. The room was quite big, it included tea, coffee, hot chocolate. Downstairs there was a living room available for guests to relax in, play games, etc. There was a great view from our room. The breakfast was also fine, it included some nice homemade jam. It's not the cheapest place in the world, but if you want a very nice guesthouse then we would definitely recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. AIDANFRIES | Thu 18th Aug 2016


Perfect in every way - Rating 5/5

The location and aspect of the guesthouse is perfect with great views and set back from the road into Ullapool for quietness. It is a short walk into the town and the helpful hosts made an excellent suggestion as to where to go for dinner. The room was very well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was fit for champions.

Reviewer:Mr. Rob Morris | Thu 18th Aug 2016


Swiss Family - Rating 5/5

Wir genossen unseren Aufenthalt im Guesthouse. Die Zimmer waren sauber und toll eingerichtet. Die Hausherrin war sehr freundlich und das Frühstück war frisch und reichhaltig.Ullapool ist zu Fuss in ca. 10 min gut erreichbar. Somit hat man in der Nacht seine Ruhe.Wir kommen jedenfalls wieder.

Reviewer:Mr. Rene Lozoya | Mon 15th Aug 2016


B and B review - Rating 5/5

A really super B and B. Excellent morning views of the loch. Jolly good breakfast

Reviewer:Dr. Allan Mann | Thu 4th Aug 2016


A very nice stay - Rating 5/5

An excellent stay. Thank you!

Reviewer:Mrs. Angela Gläser | Sun 31st Jul 2016


A STAY OVERNIGHT EN ROUTE TO THE ISLES - Rating 5/5

Wonderful place to stay.Extremely comfortable and welcoming.

Reviewer:Mr. JOHN SIMESTER | Fri 22nd Jul 2016


One night stay - Rating 3/5

Pretty views of Loch from back bedroom window.Very clean and homely, plenty of good advice from owner.Close to Ullapool although difficult to find somewhere nice to eat.Larger bed would have improved our stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Felstead | Mon 18th Jul 2016


Nice View and good food - Rating 5/5

We only stayed at Sheiling House overnight but it was a very nice B and B and good stop after a long day. Very comfortable. We really didn't see our hosts much just at our arrival and at breakfast briefly but they were nice. Ullapool has good music and some of the best seafood I've ever had. It is a very nice village, I wish we could have stayed longer.

Reviewer:Mr. Ted Lewis | Mon 18th Jul 2016


Too short a stay - Rating 5/5

I wish we had time to stay for more than one night on our trip.Our view of the loch and back garden from our twin, upstairs room was a welcome sight.We were also extremely happy for the onsite laundry facilities!

Reviewer:Mr. Spencer Willis | Sun 17th Jul 2016


One night at The Shieling Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

We much enjoyed our stay Wish it was longer!Room was very well equipped, warm, comfortable and clean.Breakfast was excellentSetting and view wonderful

Reviewer:Mr. Ronald Urquhart | Fri 15th Jul 2016


Our Visit to Ullapool - Rating 5/5

Comfortable night followed by delicious breakfast at a prime location overlooking the loch at Ullapool. We had an excellent rest stop at the Sheiling on our North Scottish Road Trip.

Reviewer:Mr. Iain Sneddon | Wed 13th Jul 2016


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely Guest House and we have really enjoyed staying there - three times now.Great stepping stone for the Outer Isles and terrific porridge!

Reviewer:Mr. Philip Marsden | Tue 12th Jul 2016


Alastair Burnet - Rating 5/5

very comfortable stay in beautiful location and excellent breakfasts!

Reviewer:Mr. Alastair Burnet | Fri 8th Jul 2016


2nd Stay - Rating 5/5

This was my second stay at the Sheiling and was just as good as the first. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. James Paton | Fri 8th Jul 2016


Very good - Rating 5/5

I loved the Sheiling. It was absolutely spotless. I have never stayed anywhere as clean (including some very high profile hotels). The only downside is it's a bit dated but that shouldn't stop anyone staying here. Book this B&B!! Also the view is stunning and the propriorters are great hosts.

Reviewer:Mr. Samuel Poole | Tue 5th Jul 2016


Thanks - Rating 5/5

lovely view, lovly breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. Uwe Ellerbrock | Fri 1st Jul 2016


Great guesthouse in a stunning location - Rating 5/5

It was a real pleasure to stay here.We had a really nice warm welcome and the facilities were top rate.Rooms were really clean and a good size.Breakfast was lovely and I'd recommend here to anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Crossley | Mon 27th Jun 2016


Lovely , friendly place - Rating 5/5

Only stayed here for the one night and we thought it was a lovely place. Very close to the town and the garden down to the loch is stunning. Bedrooms are perfect and loved the little decanter of sherry ! Would recommend for sure.

Reviewer:Miss. Denise Howie | Thu 23rd Jun 2016


Lovely location - Rating 5/5

Only stayed for 1 night but it was very comfortable.Good breakfast with plenty of choice.Lovely location, within easy walking distance of the town.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Markie | Sun 19th Jun 2016


Road to the Hebrides- Rating 5/5

We stayed here on our way to Stornoway. The guest house was perfect on every level. Easy to find, perfect location for the morning ferry, easy to walk into town for something to eat, close to Petrol station and the accommodation itself was clean,warm, comfortable,welcoming with a fab breakfast. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Ms. Evelyn Simpson | Sun 19th Jun 2016


May 2016 Stay - Rating 3/5

Clean, comfortable, pleasant, good value. Nice people. Excellent breakfast. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Bryan Sharp | Sun 12th Jun 2016


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

This was our second visit to The Sheiling Guesthouse. Our room was spacious, the beds were very comfortable and attention had been paid to the smallest of details. The views of the loch and mountains through the panoramic windows and from the garden sloping down to the water is breathtaking. Breakfast was delicious. If we are in the area again, then we shall certainly come back.

Reviewer:Dr. Alan McKenzie | Sun 12th Jun 2016


Bella posizione, ospiti formali - Rating 3/5

Ben posizionato, con vista sul Loch ma non distante dal paese. Accoglienza formale, i prorietari fanno il loro lavoro ma senza troppo interesse verso i propri ospiti, almeno confrontandolo con le precedenti esperienze. Letto piccolo ma camera pulita e carina, che sfortunatamente non si chiudeva a chiave.

Reviewer:Mr. Mediano Ruvinetti | Sat 11th Jun 2016


Sheiling Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for one night in May 2016. High standards regarding accommodation and food. Excellent lounge facilities and lovely view from the garden.

Reviewer:Mr. Trevor Chittenden | Fri 10th Jun 2016


A brief but very pleasant stay! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Sheiling overnight before travelling from Ullapool to Stornoway on the ferry, and found the establishment to be impeccable! Our room was spacious,clean and well appointed. It was especially well positioned on the ground floor as we had a dog travelling with us. The owners were very accommodating when it came to welcoming dog owners, for which we were really grateful! The views from the Sheiling and its gardens were magnificent, and the breakfast superb! We would certainly stay at The Sheiling again in the future!

Reviewer:Mr. Allan Penfold | Tue 7th Jun 2016


Stunning stay - Rating 5/5

A beautiful location that was hard to leave. A very comfortable room and excellent breakfast. The amenities were first class and included washing facilities. Very efficient and we'll run establishment. In short, a stunning stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Jim Walmsley | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Perfect B&B for us. 5-10 mins walk to Ullapool. The smoked fish options at breakfast were very pleasant and the sherry in the room an excellent touch.

Reviewer:Mr. Aidan Allanach | Mon 30th May 2016


Absolute delight - Rating 5/5

The Sheiling is an absolute must if you are planning a stay in Ullapool. Beautifully appointed and decorated throughout overlooking the Loch with amazing views from the garden. Iain and Lesley are the perfect hosts and will make your stay perfect. Could not find find fault in any way. We look forward to a return visit next time we are north of the border.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Brown | Mon 30th May 2016


fantastic - Rating 5/5

This is the second time I have stayed at the sheiling guesthouse and again it was excellent.The room was absolutely lovely,extremely clean and bright with tea and coffee and even some sherry provided.I would not hesitateto stay there againit was first class.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Abrahams | Sun 29th May 2016


Lovely guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our one night stop over, good location for a stroll into Ullapool. Best breakfast all week!

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine Burton | Sat 21st May 2016


Stunning views - Rating 4/5

We had a comfortable night here.Our room was warm and thoughtfully equipped and it was quiet. The guest sitting room was a lovely surprise with lovely views across the loch and a music system on which to play favourite cds. I would certainly recommend it.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pippa Cann | Sat 21st May 2016


Superb b&b - Rating 5/5

Great B&B, one of the best I have stayed in. Room was lovely and spacious, attention to detail was spot on and the breakfast brilliant. Only slight, and I do mean slight, downside was the water pressure in the shower wasn't great, but all in all highly recommended.

Reviewer:Miss. Sarah Mitchell | Thu 19th May 2016


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed whilst on the north coast 500 route,great location and views, b+b very good, would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. michael hounslow | Tue 17th May 2016


Location! Location! Location! - Rating 5/5

Wonderful B &B:spotless spacious room and common area, excellent breakfasts, lovely walk to centre of town, gracious hosts, stunningly beautiful area in Scotland. Greatly appreciated laundry faciliities when travelling in Scotland for 3 weeks. Our highest recommendation.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane C Morton | Sun 15th May 2016


Agood B&B - Rating 4/5

Our twin room with a sea view was clean and very comfortable. The shower did not work properly as there is a flow problem so we had to have baths. Breakfast was very good and the proprietor was friendly.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Harvey | Fri 13th May 2016


I\'d like to come again - Rating 5/5

(Not quite a group of adults, just two friends).The Sheiling is in a perfect spot with great views up Loch Broom from the bedroom, breakfast room and the spacious, comfortable, log-fire-warmed guest sitting room. The weather was cold, the Sheiling was warm.Breakfast was great, including a wonderful fruit compote as well asporridge, cereals, fresh fruit and all the cooked options. Very good value.

Reviewer:Ms. Stella King | Mon 11th Apr 2016


Ullapools finest - Rating 5/5

This is probably the best I have ever stayed in there are no negative points to make only positive.A warm welcome a lovely room great facilities and small touches like a small decanter of sherry in the room. Top class accommodation thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Ray weldrand | Sun 10th Apr 2016


Great \"home\" base for visiting the NW coastal area - Rating 5/5

Warm and low key welcome made us feel very comfortable and we especially appreciated the informed tips and suggestions we received. The walk into town is just the right distance!

Reviewer:Ms. Natalie Moses | Mon 26th Oct 2015


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent guesthouse, well appointed, all mod cons. Drying room v useful. Great hospitality, local knowledge useful, excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Miss. Elaine Gould | Mon 26th Oct 2015


Wonderful location - Rating 5/5

Wonderfully peaceful location and an easy walk to the centre of Ullapool. Home from home comforts and breathtaking views of the Loch from the house and garden. Best breakfast out of all our stays in Scotland this holiday. Porridge with cream was wonderful and the staff friendly. Would recommend the Sheiling unreservedly.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean McCormick | Thu 1st Oct 2015


A Wonderful place to stay - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful place to stay.The rooms are lovely and comfortable and well equipped and the public areas are really welcoming.The owners are very friendly and will give you advice on what you can see if you ask.We just wished we had stayed there longer but we only had one night as we had a ferry to catch.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Derham | Sun 13th Sep 2015


Seaviews and hospitality - Rating 4/5

The Sheiling was a bit difficult to find after sunset, but the place was worth every effort. We came very late due to the wonderful landscape all around Ullapool, but they welcomed us in a most easy and friendly way. Breakfast with fine sea views over the loch to the opposite slopes was very good and the rooms comfortable enough. They also shared freely their excellent tips for dinner (The Arch Inn) and places to go to (Handa Island, the coast road from Kylesku). They'd even had a sauna, but (sadly) we had no time for that! We'd be happy to return some day soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Hannu Koskela | Tue 8th Sep 2015


Seaviews and hospitality - Rating 4/5

The Sheiling was a little hard to find after sunset, but worth every effort! The rooms on the seaside and specially the breakfast room have wonderful views ovet the bay toi the hills. We got a most friendly welcome, although we came very late due to the wonderful landscape around Ullapool. Also great suggestions for dinner (The Arch Inn)and places to go to (Handa Island, the coast road from Kylesku). They even have the sauna!

Reviewer:Mr. Hannu Koskela | Mon 7th Sep 2015


Another great stay - Rating 5/5

Second time here and did not disappoint good size room with comfy beds Tess and Michael were really helpful and we had a lovely breakfast highly recommended

Reviewer:Mr. Graham Lewis | Fri 4th Sep 2015


A very nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

Although it was raining and we could not enjoy the view of the surroundings, the place is great and very comfortable. For breakfast you can choose what you want and how you want, and Lesley is very friendly and welcoming. When we were leaving she recommended us a route and places to visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gema Gallardo | Thu 27th Aug 2015


The Sheiling... Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Conveniently located. Convivial hosts. Comfortable room. Good breakfast. What else could you ask.

Reviewer:Mr. JohnDavidson | Thu 27th Aug 2015


we would return - Rating 5/5

Excellent B/Breakfast only a short stroll from town centre

Reviewer:Mr. DEREK MILLAR | Mon 24th Aug 2015


excellent - Rating 5/5

very nice house and people, perfect rooms and breakfast. Nothing bad to say.

Reviewer:Mrs. Isabelle Ménil | Mon 17th Aug 2015


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Great location with amazing view. Very smart &clean. We all felt very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Delicious breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Timothy Worlock | Thu 13th Aug 2015


Stopover - Rating 5/5

A lovely guest house and excellent host , super base forThe ferry boarded after a hearty breakfast

Reviewer:Mrs. Martine Clewes | Wed 12th Aug 2015


Beautiful modern B&B in excellent location - Rating 5/5

Everything about this place is perfect - it is overlooking a loch (it's literally metres from the shore), it's comfortable and cozy and it has excellent modern amenities. The owners were very nice and the breakfast was amazing! Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kamila Brady | Tue 11th Aug 2015


Recommedable place - Rating 4/5

Very friendly house with a beautiful viiew from the breakfast room.

Reviewer:Mrs. Monika Schulze | Sat 8th Aug 2015


Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

Everything was good, breakfast was excellent, location was amazing, short walk to town, we loved this place, we even saw a red deer stag near here

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Eccott | Tue 4th Aug 2015


Awesome motorbiking weekend - Rating 5/5

Amazing stay at The Sheiling Guesthouse. Nice room, great hosts, unbelievable setting and views, breakfast beyond belief, all this and a sauna!Nothing was too much trouble, from drying our soaked gear to getting my partners bacon as crispy as she likes it.If you are thinking of booking here get it done you will not regret it and we will be back. Thanks.

Reviewer:Mr. William Wilson | Tue 4th Aug 2015


Very Nice - Rating 4/5

A lovely guest house in a quiet location. We had a pleasant stay here. The guesthouse is located just outside Ullapool, with adequate parking and well located for meals and tourist sites

Reviewer:Mr. Stewart Cripps | Wed 29th Jul 2015


Very pleasant stay with great view on Loch Broom- Rating 5/5

After an amazing ride along the north west highland coastal route we got a warm welcome at The sheiling Guesthouse. We find a comfortable lounge, great view on the Loch Broom and a tasty breakfast in the morning.

Reviewer:Mr. FrankLiebmann| Mon 13th Jul 2015


The Sheiling Guesthouse- Rating 5/5

Charming, cozy, welcoming place to stay!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sandra Copenhaver | Wed 8th Jul 2015


28th June 2015 - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night while touring at this peaceful guesthouse. Friendly welcome and advice for local area.lovely big room and bathroom with good facilities. Comfortable bed ensured a good nights sleep.Very good breakfast to send us on our way

Reviewer:Mr. Steven Clough | Fri 3rd Jul 2015


Highly recommend. - Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house, comfortable, quiet room with spacious en suite.Everything you required for a good nights sleep, followed by a perfectly cooked and substantial breakfast in the morning, eaten with spectacular views over Loch Broom from the bright dining room.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Shankie | Mon 29th Jun 2015


Excellent location short walk to Ullapool centre - Rating 4/5

Very spacious and well appointed room with great views over Ullapool.Great breakfast with plenty of choices for the discerning.Were very accommodating on charging my extended range electric vehicle.Would recommend

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Kerr | Sun 28th Jun 2015


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for two nights with our Motorbikes. Everything was perfect. We enjoyed our stay here.

Reviewer:Mr. Dirk Krossa | Sat 27th Jun 2015


vvisite scotland - Rating 4/5

Very nice,, bautyful seaview, good hospatality

Reviewer:Mr. Jean Louis Vuillemin | Sat 27th Jun 2015


Beautiful Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night as part of a round Northern Scotland trip. I am very particular where I book and I was not disappointed. The welcome was warm and friendly, the room (5) very clean and well appointed and the breakfast was tasty and filling.The wifi was also the strongest and most stable signal we've had which was also a strong factor for me.

Reviewer:Mrs. Heather Downing | Thu 25th Jun 2015


Our stay - Rating 4/5

thank you very much for your warm hospitality.Really liked our stay beofre going to Harris and Lewis

Reviewer:Mr. Heim Hagedoorn | Thu 25th Jun 2015


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

A warm and friendly welcome at the Sheiling Gueshouse. Lovely room with great views, very clean and well equipped. Good service, the breakfast was excellent. It was our second stay in this B&B and we will stay again when visiting Ullapool!

Reviewer:Mr. Eberhard Naake | Mon 22nd Jun 2015


Fantastic friendly B & B - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome and a spotlessly clean and very comfortable room and bed. Beautiful view from breakfast room and a fantastic breakfast. Would return in a Minute.

Reviewer:Mr. John King | Sun 21st Jun 2015


Comfort - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay.We were made very welcome and we both relaxed in very comfortable surroundings.Hosts were extremely helpful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Laing | Sun 21st Jun 2015


Not just a hut - Rating 4/5

Apparently Sheiling in Gaelic means a hut or collection of huts.This guesthouse is not just a hut, it is more - much more.We only stayed for one night during our tour around the area, but were very impressed with the room, the owner and the breakfast - try the haddock and poached egg!When we arrived the weather was overcast so the view across the loch was a tad obscured.In the morning, however, the weather was superb as was the view from the house.If we return to the area, we will certainly stay here.

Reviewer:Mr. David Pocknee | Mon 15th Jun 2015


German biker and friends - Rating 5/5

Everything was fine. We enjoyed our stay here.

Reviewer:Mr. Juergen Rohde | Sun 14th Jun 2015


Lovely and hospitable - Rating 5/5

Our room was immaculate comfortable. We enjoyed a walk to town for dinner. Having a washer and dryer available was an unexpected and very welcome bonus.

Reviewer:Mrs. Cathy Parker | Thu 28th May 2015


the sheilings no1- Rating 5/5

Absolutely fantastic .i have travelled extensively throughout europe and uk and have never stayed in a better b&b .the location the food etc all 1st classwill definately stsy there next time

Reviewer:Mr. dsvid hawxby | Tue 26th May 2015


first class b and b - Rating 5/5

Excellent b and b we have stayed there a number of times

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Callaghan | Sun 24th May 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

An excellent and welcoming B and B.

Reviewer:Mrs. Angela Stephens | Tue 19th May 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Great in every way. Room was perfect &very clean.Shower &bathroom spotless.Breakfast was perfect.Loved it.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Abrahams | Sun 17th May 2015


Immaculate and welcoming stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay at The Sheiling Guesthouse.The location is perfect and the views are exquisite.Lesley and her husband do a wonderful job of keeping their guests happy.If we pass through Ullapool again, we would surely book in here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Dave Stein | Fri 1st May 2015


Wonderful Welcome - Rating 4/5

We booked on line whilst having lunch in Perth on our journey from Hampshire to the Highlands.You are never quite sure what you are going to get whilst booking on line but I would like to reassure you this is a good one!The house itself is lovely. Situated a short walk from the centre of Ullapool with plenty of choice for eating and drinking.There is a beautiful visitors lounge and our bedroom was very nice with stunning views of Loch Broom from the dormer windows. The Breakfast room had stunning views over the loch, and there was everything you could wish for for breakfast. The owners were very welcoming and professional.This was a good choice.

Reviewer:Mr. John Malley | Sat 11th Apr 2015


Enjoy a peaceful and delightful setting at The Sheiling Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

This guesthouse was a modern home with modern, clean, tasteful rooms as well as a nice lounge for guests and a scenic dining room which accompanied a very good breakfast.The views from our room and the dining room were outstanding.The hostess was friendly and organized.

Reviewer:Ms. Nancy Layng | Wed 22nd Oct 2014


Girls on tour - Rating 4/5

Comfortable, friendly and hospitable. Lovely view. Nice beds and good food.

Reviewer:Ms. Anne Brockman | Wed 15th Oct 2014


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

A quiet location on the edge of the village within easy reach of all amenities. Warm friendly service from proprietors with a lot of attention to detail in rooms. Great choice for breakfast which is freshly cooked to order.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Hemsley | Mon 6th Oct 2014


Nice and friendly - Rating 4/5

Nice and clean rooms. Very good and typical breakfast. Very nice contact. I would come again. I only missed a shower curtain in my room to avoid flood during shower

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Rapphahn | Mon 29th Sep 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Simon and Tess (who were holding the fort for Iain and Lesley) were excellent hosts.Our room was spacious, warm, clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the Loch.This B&B is close enough to be able to walk into Ullapool and the garden leads down to the Loch and secluded beach area.Breakfast was offered a good range of options

Reviewer:Mr. Andy Mallon | Fri 26th Sep 2014


Lovely guesthouse - Rating 5/5

The sheiling is just outside ullapool and is a lovely place to stay. The staff is caring and very informative. the breakfast is excellent. Rooms are spacious and very confortable.

Reviewer:Ms. Giuseppina Evangelista | Sun 24th Aug 2014


18-08-2014 one night stay - Rating 4/5

Nice friendly welcome on arrival, informative tour of the excellent facilities and room. Cleanliness was of a high standard. Mattress on our bed was too firm for our liking. Food was very good. Good location with a short walk to the centre of town and local amenities. We will use this place again if in the vicinity.

Reviewer:Mr. JamesRoss | Tue 19th Aug 2014


WILL RETURN - Rating 5/5

Was impressed with the Sheiling Guesthouse,high standar of cleanliness,great service,nice extra little touches like sherry in room for a nightcap,would certainly reccommend if you are going to Ullapool.Will return again.Biker traveller ,parking fine also.

Reviewer:Mr. Grant Duncan | Fri 15th Aug 2014


Splendid choice of B&B - Rating 5/5

Spacious, clean en-suite with comfortable bed and also a generous beverage tray that included hot chocolate. Welcome sherry and mixed boiled sweets was a nice touch. Abundant breakfast fayre to choose from. I recommend the porridge with cream in particular. Luxurious lounge with large window looking out on to Loch Broom. Good to see a bible among the books too. All in all a splendid choice of B&B

Reviewer:Mr. David Mcadam | Tue 12th Aug 2014


wonderfull - Rating 5/5

great breakfast, nice people, car space,

Reviewer:Mr. Andreas Fischer | Tue 12th Aug 2014


Idyllic spot - Rating 4/5

Superb location with excellent view, friendly service and great laundry facilities.

Reviewer:Mr. Julie Plugge | Fri 8th Aug 2014


Perfect - Rating 5/5

A perfect bed and breakfast in perfect surroundings.

Reviewer:Mrs. Fiona Campbell | Wed 30th Jul 2014


Satisfied - Rating 4/5

Very clean, spacious room, decent breakfast, good service

Reviewer:Mr. Victor Gonzalez Huici | Tue 29th Jul 2014


The Sheiling - Rating 4/5

A very comfortable guest house in lovely situation within easy walking distance of Ullapool.Would recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Young | Sat 19th Jul 2014


Ullapool Scotland - Rating 5/5

Excellent in all respects. Breakfast to die for, cleanliness and facilities of the room was to a very high standard. Perhaps this is why I visit there on a yearly basis.

Reviewer:Mr. Melvyn Holford | Fri 18th Jul 2014


lived up to its recommendation - Rating 4/5

Friends who stayed here some years ago recommended it to us and we are glad they did so. Well positioned on the main road into town and just before the town proper, so easy to find and an easy walk into town. The house and grounds are welcoming, as are the hosts.Extremely comfortable room and beds, an excellent breakfast with a water view and all in all a most pleasant part of an excellent week spent in the Western highlands.Ullapool is a lovely spot and good for sorties south and north.

Reviewer:Dr. John Mack | Tue 8th Jul 2014


Ferry Stopover - Rating 4/5

I chose the Sheiling from an online directory when I was looking for overnight accommodation prior to catching the Stornaway Ferry. I was very pleased with my choice. Beautiful lochside location, a very warm welcome, clean comfortable and quiet. Facilities are excellent, including wi-fi, and there is a lot of up to date local information available. Less than a 5 minute drive to the ferry terminal. I would stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart Gosling | Mon 23rd Jun 2014


Algie and Gingers sortie - Rating 5/5

Excellent location and breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Gilmore | Wed 18th Jun 2014


Fabulous B&B - Rating 5/5

Wonderful setting on the lochside.Immaculate and very comfortable stay.Breakfast excellent. Only a short walk to Ullapool town and ferry.

Reviewer:Ms. Christine Mcdiarmid | Tue 17th Jun 2014


good accommodation - Rating 4/5

A nice stay, comfortable room, good views from property, excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Baker | Sun 15th Jun 2014


Will come back - Rating 4/5

Very friendly, nice rooms, nice views, conveniently situated in Ullapool

Reviewer:Mrs. Sabine Palmer | Mon 9th Jun 2014


Very good B&B - Rating 4/5

Clean and comfortable room,good breakfast, friendly Hosts.

Reviewer:Mr. Hans-juergen Broeker | Wed 4th Jun 2014


Good time - Rating 5/5

The room was clean with amazing view to loch Broom. We tryed a salmon or breakfast, which was lovely. The hosts are kind and helpful. I cant complaint about our stay

Reviewer:Miss. Katerina Vanharova | Wed 4th Jun 2014


Very comfortable accommodation in a lovely location - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely place to stay. My room was very clean and comfortable, with a wonderful view down the gardens to Loch Broom. Breakfast was excellent, with a huge choice of cooked food. There was a friendly welcome and staff were helpful and attentive. The location is excellent,as being set back from the road, it is quiet, but it is also easy to walk into the centre of Ullapool. This would be my first choice of accommodation for a future visit to this area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol Madden | Mon 2nd Jun 2014


Very good - Rating 5/5

Very friendly people and very nice B&B. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Ms. Eveline Hug | Sun 1st Jun 2014


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Nice room. Clean. Warm welcome. Good breakfast. Recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Mouries Mouries | Sat 31st May 2014


Review Title - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at The Sheiling. Our room was clean and tidy with a lovely view of the loch. The breakfast choice and food quality was excellent. Only minor issue being the the shower could have been better, however we would be happy to stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Tom Mclellan | Mon 19th May 2014


Hammond Trip - Rating 4/5

This was a very clean and well equipped establishment with a wonderful breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Tracey Hammond | Sat 17th May 2014


What a simply lovely place! - Rating 5/5

Stayed at 'The Shieling' very recently and were most impressed with the quiet efficiency of the place, the friendliness of the hosts, Lesley and Iain and the excellent standard of everything throughout.There were lovely white towels, loads of hot water, a quiet lounge, a wonderful outlook and a great breakfast - what more could one ask for?We will certainly be back again in the future! Thank you!

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Higgins | Wed 14th May 2014


Perfect. - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay the hosts made sure we had all we needed. Would highly recommend the Sheilings and their scrummy breakfasts!

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas Matthews | Mon 5th May 2014


Excellent Shieling - Rating 5/5

The Shieling is top of the B&B list during our recent Highland tour.They even provided three days of glorious weather !

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Dunsire | Mon 5th May 2014


"Til the boat comes Inn (!) - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable room with excellent facilities and great breakfast. IT/ Booking arrangements very slick too.

Reviewer:Dr. Simon Walford | Mon 5th May 2014


AApril stay - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay, our host and hostess were welcoming and helpful. We would stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Rodger Johnson | Sun 27th Apr 2014


Sheiling Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

This is our second visit to the Sheiling Guesthouse, therefore we knew what to expect during our stay. We were not disappointed in any way. The accommodation was spotless and modern and the breakfasts excellent. I made a point of choosing a different breakfast main course each day, as I never get the chance of smoked salmon or smoked haddock at home, or in many other guesthouses or hotels. Lesley and Iain made us very welcome and my wife and myself enjoyed our three night stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Fraser | Sun 27th Apr 2014


The Excellent B&B! - Rating 5/5

I stayed four B&Bs during my travel over the Highland.I can say that it was one of the best B&B in Highland in terms of the view of Loch Broom, cleanliness, comfort, fresh breakfast and hospitality. I definitely recommend this B&B.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sung Park | Thu 17th Apr 2014


lovely stay - Rating 4/5

We had a nice time in Ullapool staying at The Sheiling B&B. The owners were very friendly and had a cute dog. Lovely dining room with seasight and good food. The poached eggs were just perfect.Although the bed was a bit short (for tall people!) we can absolutely recommend this house.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carmen Buder | Sat 5th Apr 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Second time I've been - it's perfect being outside the hectic town centre, and breakfast is worth the trip alone.The room (#2) is very spacious and clean, with a great shower after a couple of days walking in the hills!

Reviewer:Mr. Tom Berryman | Wed 30th Oct 2013


Very Good Stay - Rating 5/5

Fabulous location overlooking the loch.Very nice comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast.Couldn't ask for more.

Reviewer:Mr. David Walton | Wed 30th Oct 2013


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

A clean and well kept establishment, friendly hosts and a good breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith Mckay | Tue 1st Oct 2013


A comfortable and convenient stay by the loch - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant and comfortable stay. Hosts efficient and attentive but unobtrusive. Liked the outlook. Breakfast room well presented.Especially appreciated laundry away from house so that we could wash and dry until nearly midnight without disturbing anyone!

Reviewer:Mr. Greg Noonan | Fri 20th Sep 2013


One night stay - Rating 4/5

We had a pleasant room in the comfortable house which is situated five minutes walk from Ullapool. A warm welcome and lots of information about the area. Happy to recommend and we'd stay again. Excellent dinner at The Arch!

Reviewer:Mr. John Gothard | Sun 8th Sep 2013


very nice experience - Rating 4/5

we stayed in Sheiling Guesthouse for only one night. It was a really nice experience. The rooms are very clean and well equipped, the breakfast is very nice

Reviewer:Mr. Vincenzo Vitale | Tue 3rd Sep 2013


Luxury b and b - Rating 5/5

Better than lots of hotels, a very comfortable and pleasant room with all the amenities you want, including wifi in deepest wildest Scotland. Great breakfast and friendly hosts make it definitely a place to return to again and again.

Reviewer:Miss. Kara Wilson | Sun 1st Sep 2013


Great Place - Rating 5/5

It was the best guest house we have stayed in the highland. Lovely room and superb breakfast,we would highly recommend it, hope to stay there again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Callaghan | Sat 31st Aug 2013


Very nice stay - Rating 4/5

Excellent rooms and a very nice breakfast

Reviewer:Mrs. Irene Sutterland | Thu 22nd Aug 2013


Just lovely - Rating 5/5

Great room, convenient location, helpful hosts, great breakfast. Thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Russell Williams | Wed 21st Aug 2013


Great B & B - Rating 5/5

The Sheiling was a great B&B from the welcome to the end of our visit. Our room was both clean and very comfortable, (the sherry decanter was a lovely touch) Breakfast was fantastic the smoked haddock just right as was the smoked salmon scrambled eggs. Would definately recommend this lovely haven to anyone visiting Ullapool

Reviewer:Mrs. Shirley Angus | Wed 21st Aug 2013


Nice view and garden - Rating 4/5

All was very good. The location, the rooms, the garden, the hosts.An exception about the bathroom because it is very difficult to adjust the water temperature.

Reviewer:Mr. Thierry Guerin | Mon 19th Aug 2013


Great place - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely one night stay at The Shieling Guesthouse. My room was comfortable, quiet and well equipped. And breakfast saw me right for he rest of the day. My hosts were friendly and full of good advice. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Ms. Belinda Hunt | Sat 17th Aug 2013


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent Guest House - nice room, on-suite and great breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. DuncanMackenzie | Fri 16th Aug 2013


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent.Not our first time in Ullapool, but first time staying at the Sheiling. Welcoming and friendly, good room, fantastic breakfast - we will definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Dave Aitcheson | Mon 12th Aug 2013


thank you!! - Rating 5/5

we had a lovely stay at the sheiling! although we were heading in in the middle of the night iain was very helpful and friendly. the rooms were nice, tidy and spaceous and we were happy to see some fair trade products in the tea/coffee corner.breakfast was delicious and huge, the look over the loch stunning. we will definitely be back at our next stay in ullapool.

Reviewer:Mr. Rainer Druckenthaner | Mon 12th Aug 2013


we ll be back - Rating 5/5

i was delighted from start to finish , clean , tidy , confortable , warm welcome, great surroundings, and boy do they know how to do a good scottish breakfast , and good quality food. would recommend it to everyone

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth Kostek Gibb | Mon 12th Aug 2013


First Class B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent and comfortable accommodation within 10 minutes easy walking of the ferry terminal. Beautiful views over the loch from the public rooms.Good choice for breakfasts which were excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Alex Aikman | Sun 11th Aug 2013


Recommended - Rating 5/5

The guesthousse was very nice and definitelly worth the price we paid. The garden on the back is a very nice place to put your blanket on and just chill out with the view on a loch. Breakfast options - very smart idea as not everybody is used to Scotish food :)

Reviewer:Mr. Wojciech Krol | Wed 7th Aug 2013


The Sheiling - Rating 5/5

We have stayed many times at The Sheiling and it never failsto impress. One of the very best B &B 's in Scotland andcertainly best in the Ullapool area. Spotlessly clean andexcellent facilities.

Reviewer:Mr. Jack Weir | Sat 20th Jul 2013


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

A warm and friendly welcome at the Sheiling Gueshouse. Lovely room with great views, very clean and well equipped. The breakfast was excellent. We will stay again when visiting Ullapool!

Reviewer:Mr. Eberhard Naake | Sat 20th Jul 2013


nice - Rating 5/5

My sister and I were delighted to stay at the Sheiling guesthouse. If I come again to Ullapool I will try to stay there. The owner was very helpfull and kind

Reviewer:Miss. Studer Renée | Thu 11th Jul 2013


Allyson - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at the Sheiling Guesthouse tremendously. We had a very comfortable and well appointed room with loch views. Excellent value for money and lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Proprieters very friendly, helpful and professional. We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Allyson Perkins | Wed 10th Jul 2013


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Amazing place to stay

Reviewer:Ms. Elena Rimoldi | Tue 9th Jul 2013


My stay at The Sheiling Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here before and always been satisfied .... again this was no exception. The room was clean and well appointed and the breakfast was good ... in all a nice place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Askey | Tue 9th Jul 2013


Review - Rating 5/5

Great stay, comfortable and clean accommodation. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Coulthard | Mon 8th Jul 2013


Wet Day Gem! - Rating 5/5

Arriving wet and cold our hosts switched on the central heating for us and offered us the drying room facility for our wet clothing.The room was spacious, well equipped and comfortable.Breakfast was excellent.What more can we say than we look forward to our next visit!

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Pearson | Thu 27th Jun 2013


Ullapool - Rating 4/5

We have just spent one night at The Sheiling. It is a nice place, functionally equipped. We have specially enjoyed the small pot of Sherry that was in the room, as we celebrated on that day being married for 20 months.

Reviewer:Mr. Markus Buetzer | Wed 26th Jun 2013


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

This was our second time staying at the Sheiling and again we really enjoyed our stay. Rooms are lovely, puts many a hotel to shame.Breakfast too is delicious.Would certainly stay again and recommend to our friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Lindsay Gebbie | Tue 25th Jun 2013


Excellent in many ways - Rating 5/5

very nice people. Excellent location for visiting Dornoch. Very quiet.Ultimate breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Jean Van Lierde | Tue 25th Jun 2013


Would do it again / Volveria - Rating 5/5

Great view, delicious breakfast, easy access, walking distance from Ullapool. So clean my white socks never got dirty from walking around he house/bedroom!Laundry room reasonably priced with dryer or place to hang dry clothes. Also sauna room, which was a pleasure to use.Excelente vista, desayuno muy rico , de facil acceso y a poca distacia de Ullapool. Tan limpio que mis medias blancas no se ensuciaron despues de caminar por la casa. Tiene espacio para laar la ropa a un modico precio y secadora o lugar para colgar la ropa. El sauna fue un placer. Volveria a quedarme.

Reviewer:Mr. Harry Tart | Mon 24th Jun 2013


Black Pudding Heaven - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome from efficient and friendly owners. Room 5 has stunning views over Loch Broom and the breakfast is first rate with the best Black Pudding ever! Great accommodation in a stunning location.

Reviewer:Mr. Geoff Smith | Mon 10th Jun 2013


C Clark - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation, spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean.First class breakfast. Centrally located in Ullapool.

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine Clark | Sat 8th Jun 2013


Excellent - Rating 5/5

The best B&B during our trip in Scotland, warm welcome, excellent and large room, all equipment functional, very nice location...Perfect !

Reviewer:Mr. Perennou Pierre | Thu 6th Jun 2013


A good B&B! - Rating 4/5

We spent only 1night in your B&B.. The room was very clean, very good bathroom.The location is simply the best, it's about 5 minutes walk to the centre.The staff were good.We will recommend to our friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Michele Di Girolamo | Tue 4th Jun 2013


Recommended! - Rating 5/5

Myself and 5 others used the Sheiling during a visit to Ullapool. We were all impressed with the rooms and also the sitting room which had a spectacular view of Loch Broom.The hosts were warm and welcoming and made our stay very pleasant.As I said in my title-recommended!Andy

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Hodge | Sun 26th May 2013


Recommended stay - Rating 5/5

A warm and friendly welcome at the Sheiling Gueshouse. The location is fabulous and you can set out on your holiday adventure knowing that, after a very comfortable stay, you have been provided with a hearty breakfast to set you on your way. This is definitely a recommended stay if you in Ullapool.

Reviewer:Mr. Philip Bradshaw | Sat 18th May 2013


April 2013 stopover - Rating 5/5

Lovely room with great views, hosts were very warm and welcoming, excellent breakfast, would definately rocommend anyone to stay here.I will stay again when visiting Ullapool

Reviewer:Mr. Steven Day | Wed 24th Apr 2013


Looking forward to our next visit! - Rating 5/5

The Sheiling is an excellent guesthouse in a superb lochside location. Our room was tastefully furnished and was both comfortable and cosy, as was the guest lounge. We were made very welcome and enjoyed a hearty breakfast which set us up for the rest of the day - we didn't need to eat again until evening! Our only regret was that we weren't able to stay longer, but we certainly will next time! Thank you Lesley and Ian for the warmth of your hospitality - and the welcome sherry, a lovely touch!

Reviewer:Mr. Peter R Jones | Wed 10th Apr 2013


Sheiling Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Lovely setting, with comfortable accommodation. Excellent breakfast and the walk into the village is only 5 minutes.Evening log fire very homely.

Reviewer:Mr. David Finnie | Fri 5th Apr 2013


Extremly good B & B - Rating 5/5

Stayed here after travelling on the Stornoway ferry before our onward long journey. Extremely good and well equipped guest house. Owners very welcoming and provided lots of useful information. Room spotlessly clean but contained everything required, crisp white bed linen and towels, good lighting and a very comfortable bed! There was even a hot water bottle supplied! Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked and presented and included home made marmalade and fresh butter (no packets!!) The views were stunning from the back of the house directly onto the loch. Excellent value for money and will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. HectorCampbell | Mon 5th Nov 2012


Great hospitality - Rating 5/5

Thank you to The Sheiling for some great Scottish hospitality on our recent trip from South Africa. Superb breakfast, comfortable accommodation and every effort was made to make our stay in Ullapool a memorable one.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne Hulley | Fri 5th Oct 2012


The Sheiling Guesthouse September 2012 - Rating 5/5

Welcoming hosts, very comfortable accommodation, good and hearty breakfasts, convenient location and outstanding view.

Reviewer:Mrs. JanieAllen | Mon 24th Sep 2012


Perfect - Rating 5/5

A lovely place, clean, tidy, well equipped and with a much needed bath and not just the std shower. Most relaxing. lovely views from the lounge too.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven Wallace | Sat 15th Sep 2012


excellent stay - Rating 5/5

spotlessly clean, tasty breakfast, comfy bed, lovely people ... perfect, thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie Paterson | Sat 15th Sep 2012


Holodays in sept 12 - Rating 5/5

Excellent BB. to be recommanded

Reviewer:Mr. Berthet Serge | Fri 14th Sep 2012


Lovely Views - Rating 3/5

Lovely views out to the loch. Delicious breakfast and nice welcome even though we arrived late from the Stornoway Ferry.

Reviewer:Mrs. Liz Cumming | Thu 30th Aug 2012


Nothing Lacking at this B&B - Rating 5/5

A lovely guesthouse and we appreciated all the obvious attention to small detail.We were only there for one night but could see that it would be ideal for a longer stay, with lovely lounge overlooking the water. Superb breakfast with smoked salmon and perfectly poached egg. The dining rooom hung with hairy sporrans was "interesting"!

Reviewer:Mrs. Clare Blois | Mon 27th Aug 2012


Then Sheiling Ullapool - Rating 4/5

Stayed here 17 years ago when the Mackenzie's were the proprietors, standards were just as good as last visit. Only critisism Mr MacDonald could have been a little more chatty when serving breakfast.Breakfast was beautifully cooked.

Reviewer:Mr. William Walker | Mon 20th Aug 2012


Ullapool stay - Rating 5/5

Nice room. The sherry gave the stay an extra touch. The breakfast was fantastic!Nice to sit in the garden and read in the evening (while my husband was fishing). The view was great in the evening and morning.

Reviewer:Dr. Thomas Probert | Thu 16th Aug 2012


Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights before traveling to the island of Lewis/Harris. What a wonderful place The Shielings was. Very clean, good food in very nice surroundings. Everything was at hand that we needed. Add the views, worth going for a few days at any time of the year

Reviewer:Mr. DavidWilliams | Wed 15th Aug 2012


A recommendation for your stay at Ullapool - Rating 5/5

This Guesthouse is close to the town (10 minutes by walk) and is built at the border of the lake in an idilic picture. The rooms are decoratedwith pleasure and in a convenient way making you feel well. The breakfast room is spacious and you can enjoy a very good breakfast as you see the garden through the window. Summarazing, our stay was very confortable

Reviewer:Mrs. Montserrat Herrador | Wed 1st Aug 2012


Well Done! - Rating 5/5

We wished that we had arranged to stay longer. A warm welcome, with all the information we needed. The Sheiling's Lounge and Breakfast Room are light and comfortable and share beautiful views with the garden. The bedrooms were spacious and we could find nothing to criticise. The Sherry was a nice touch. Many thanks;we hope to be able to visit again sometime.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony Barker | Fri 27th Jul 2012


Alastair Burnet's Review - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay in splendid surroundings;it would be nice to stay again sometime!

Reviewer:Mr. Alastair Burnet | Fri 13th Jul 2012


The Sheiling - Rating 5/5

Beautiful guesthouse set in stunning location. Excellent room facilities and lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen Johnstone | Wed 20th Jun 2012


Excellent Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Made very welcome. Excellent view with wonderful guest lounge. Breakfast perfect. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon Bluck | Sun 17th Jun 2012


Scotland at its best - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at The Sheiling, a wonderful place. We got a nice and cosy room with lake view

Reviewer:Mr. Rainer Haeming | Thu 14th Jun 2012


Great Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

A delightful B &B in a lovely location - just a few minutes walk to the town. A warm welcome and a cosy room with great views. Lots of choice for breakfast and all beautifully prepared. We were sorry only to have booked one night! Would definitely recommend The Sheiling Guesthouse to our friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Ashurst | Sat 9th Jun 2012


Hoping to return some day - Rating 5/5

We so loved the Sheiling:the welcome we received, the lovely, comfortable room, the glass of sherry in the garden overlooking the water, and the fabulous breakfast inc homemade marmelade. How Lesley managed the clear blue sky and Mediterranean temperatures is a mystery but what a bonus! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. T J Robinson | Thu 31st May 2012


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely guesthouse.It was extremely clean and comfortable.The room we stayed in had beautiful views from all windows, as did the house itself as it overlooks the loch.It was a very friendly place and a short walk into Ullapool.The facilities in the guesthouse were excellent and the breakfast was lovely. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Suzanne Young | Mon 21st May 2012


Our Review - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed at The Sheiling, warm friendly guest house, good sized, clean bedroom, great breakfasts, would certainly go back again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Belinda Cable | Sun 20th May 2012


11299000216B - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed the stay. Lovely location, good food and sherry in the rooms, a nice touch.Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Belinda Cable | Sun 20th May 2012


Best yet. - Rating 5/5

Definitely a 5 star guest house.The breakfast was second to none;the room was immaculate and the location ideal.Could not ask for more!!

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Green | Sun 1st Apr 2012


Cute B&B - Rating 4/5

This was a lovely B&B. Our room had a sea view and it was very clean . We were pleasantly surpised to find a small bottle of liquer in the room along with coffe and tea. Breakfast was very good. The whole B&B was run professionally but was at the same time very warm.

Reviewer:Miss. Georgia Angeli | Sun 18th Mar 2012


Really Good ! - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay immenseley. The facilities were very good and of the standard that a first class B&B should offer. We were particularly happy with our breakfasts. My smoked salmon and scrambled egg was first rate and my partner was really pleased that her vegetarian choice had mushrooms that were not overcooked.Our hosts managed to be very helpfull withouit being intrusive. We would certainly recommend The Sheiling to friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Martyn Harvey | Wed 14th Mar 2012


tremendous place - Rating 5/5

spotless, inspiring location, easy parking, lovely public room, really fine breakfast, discreet but attentive hosts, able to dispense good local knowledge, as good as a guesthouse gets really.

Reviewer:Mr. Charles Bourne | Sun 30th Oct 2011


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay. The best of 9 B&B/guesthouses we stayed in on our tour of Scotland.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Rowland | Tue 4th Oct 2011


Excelent Stay - Rating 5/5

Excelent stay, fine Rooms, good breakfast, best rating

Reviewer:Mr. Frank F. Schneider | Tue 20th Sep 2011


Fantastic B & B - Rating 5/5

We only stayed 2 nights but had a big ensuite room.The beds were comfortable and we could open the windows for air.Facilities were marvellous (fridge with extra milk in dining room, computer for guest use in spacious lounge etc)and it was within easy walking distance of the town. Plenty of parking space. Breakfast was delicious and the choice varied. Hosts were welcoming and helpful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Sylvester | Tue 13th Sep 2011


Great! - Rating 5/5

The bedroom was really comfortable, all facilities were great and the breakfast was delicious! A very pleasant stay overall :)

Reviewer:Miss. Meritxell Taboada | Wed 31st Aug 2011


Good B & B - Rating 4/5

Very good breakfast, and convenient location.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean Shannon Jones Jones | Sat 27th Aug 2011


position and hospitality - Rating 4/5

we had a large well equipped double room, the guest house is close to village centre and the breakfast was abundantg

Reviewer:Mrs. Patrizia Fermi | Mon 22nd Aug 2011


Idyllic - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed my stay with my Mum at The Sheiling. Lovely place to stay with very hospitable owners.Beautiful surroundings and a lovely area to visit.Good choice of breakfast.Hope to return. Deborah and Marilyn

Reviewer:Mrs. Deborah Breese | Tue 26th Jul 2011


A great stay in a stunning location - Rating 4/5

We stayed at The Sheiling for one night during a tour of Scotland. We had a warm welcome and were so impressed with the location right beside the loch. The views were beautiful. The room was comfortable and the Ullapool shortbread on the welcome tray was delicious. It was easy walking distance to the centre, especially on a sunny evening.We stayed in four B&B's on the trot, and the breakfast at The Sheiling was the best. Thank you for a good stay!

Reviewer:Miss. Marietta Wilson | Fri 15th Jul 2011


Thumbs Up - Rating 5/5

Clean, comfortable, great views. Good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas Jones | Fri 8th Jul 2011


Stay - 1/7/2011 - Rating 5/5

Lovely spacious and clean room with beautiful views of the loch. Room not only has tea/coffee/chocolate and biscuits but sherry as well. Good breakfast and friendly service - highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil Christie | Mon 4th Jul 2011


good choice - Rating 4/5

nice place, good location, welcoming and breakfast excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Gleghorn | Tue 21st Jun 2011


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Inviting, comfortable and friendly with superb views and only a few minutes walk from the centre of Ullapool. A large visitors lounge and excellent breakfasts make it an ideal centre for the west coast. This is our third time and we'll be back....

Reviewer:Dr. Claud Regnard | Sun 19th Jun 2011


Outstandingly Fantastic - Rating 5/5

We had a great time at The Sheiling Guest house. The owners of the residence were outstanding and where more than happy to help us with anything. The Sheiling has everything one could possibly need and more.

Reviewer:Ms. Shaisee Hamlyn | Fri 17th Jun 2011


Very Good - Rating 4/5

The Sheiling is a very nice B&BThe food is excellent,The location is scenic

Reviewer:Mrs. Pauline Doyle | Tue 24th May 2011


The Sheiling Guest House - Rating 5/5

Beautiful position on Loch, within 7 minute walk of pub/restaurants. Very comfortable twin bedded room and superb freshly cooked breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Newnham | Sun 15th May 2011